Tags

,

I’ve been missing music lately. I had a friend once who used to send me music all the time. We’d exchange songs–a song for the glorious morning, the summer sunset, the solitude of snow. I remember the ever-delight of finding gentle melody coupled with the lilting line and the casual cascade of phrase… finding life, and my intangible thoughts, put into poetry, pure and played. Even as a writer, one can not always find the words. So it is a gift when somebody else does it for you.

But it’s been a long time. So it is with a feeling of thankfulness that I have recently rediscovered the artists The Paper Kites, to find again rhymes that resonate with me.

The first song I heard, several years ago, was Bloom. This song is so dear to me. / Let me be close to you / It is a tender weaving of the lover’s longing to be to be near, emotionally and physically, to the beloved.

In the morning when I wake
And the sun is coming through,
Oh, you fill my lungs with sweetness,
And you fill my head with you.

Shall I write it in a letter?
Shall I try to get it down?
Oh, you fill my head with pieces
Of a song I can’t get out.

Can I be close to you?
Ooh-oo-oo-ooh, ooh…

New favorites are such as “Featherstone.” The video is so different from the lyrics, I haven’t quite made it out… children, like tree vikings, marching to war with their feathered pillows. Are we to see ourselves? Our changeable natures, (dust to dust)? The alienation so easily formed between people–together, then separate, then against–(and somehow we reach the end). Or something else?

Other good ones are “Woodland” (sooo evocative of a host of childhood memories and adult nostalgia, coupled with stirring harmony–it sets me crying.)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3DnC7trxBsY

Also, “Sink In,” a lovely love song. I hope you love it as I do.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FJ0dkExj0vk&feature=related

