Tags

, , ,

This week I fell in love with The Weepies’ “Simple Life.” I love the imagery they use in this song, getting up to birds and coffee… (I, too, have sung to birds)… and that inextinguishable need for people, the love and connection between human beings.

Can I get up in the morning
Put the kettle on
Make us some coffee, say “hey” to the sun…
Is it enough to write a song and sing it to the birds?
They’d hear just the tune
Not understand my love for words
But you would hear me and know…

I want only this, I want to live
I want to live a simple life.

Often I dream of grandeur–fame, adventure, and excitement… when what is precious is the unchanging, and beauty so often small–and our calling as Christians, to faithful living.

I’ll kiss you awake, and we’ll have time
To know our neighbors all by name
And every star at night.
We’ll weave our days together like waves
And particles of light.

But would you hear me and know?

That I want only this, I want to live… I want to live a simple life.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9IOixerI-2M

