Tags

,

As I cast my ballot, I felt none of the thrilling power of a first-time-voter. Instead I wanted to cry. Even if I had liked either of the primary candidates, my conservative vote in the state of New York felt like a penny in the Hudson–not even worth two cents. Whoever won: we the people would loose.

But as I got back in the car and drove off into the night, the music that turned back on with the car (which I had’t been paying attention to when I’d arrived at the polling station) suddenly hit me with all the comfort of providential apropos. It was a Josh Garrel song–“Revelator,” taken from Isaiah’s vision of God.

He’s like a lion like a lamb,
As though slain he holds the plan
To make war and peace with man,
And reign on earth

Holy, Holy, is the One,
Who was and is, and is to come
In a robe as red as blood,
He comes forth
Ride like lightning in the sky,
On the war horse he draws nigh,
The same one we crucified,
Will return again

I was reminded–no prince, no president, not earthly power could bring the Hope and Change we need. But He is on His throne. He is a Hope never changing. And He will return.

Let’s keep things in perspective, people.

For we know that if the tent that is our earthly home is destroyed, we have a building from God, a house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens.  –2 Corinthians 5:1
